PDA

View Full Version : Panasonic FZ30 vs. Starter DSLR

maniladude
06-19-2006, 09:22 AM
Hello all,

I'm an entering college student with a growing interest in photography that my point-and-shoot is simply unable to satisfy. I've looked at the reviews on this site and others and my buying decision boils down to 2 models that are in the same price range: the Panasonic FZ30 and the Nikon D50.

I'm not yet acquainted with very many concepts of digital photography although I do intend to take lessons; I tried out my cousin's D70 a few months ago and was boggled by the fact that the pictures it took came out DRAMATICALLY different (over- or under-exposed) than I had seen on the viewfinder. I did know that I wanted an SLR's manual controls - not just the freedom to change aperture, ISO and all that, but the existence of actual PHYSICAL knobs to turn to change these settings. I didn't know how to use them yet but I knew I would need controls like these eventually.

All these factors led me to look very closely at the Panasonic FZ30; it has a big zoom, image stablization, an electronic viewfinder with "what you see is what you get" functionality (which no SLR can claim) and, most importantly to me, the aforementioned physical controls (which its prosumer competitors lacked). However, the sample pictures on this site and others showed that its pictures were SCARILY noisy. Though this site seemed to love the camera enough to present workarounds, the FZ30's noise problem put me off on the camera regardless. Indeed, picture quality is the main reason I'm considering an entry-level DSLR like the D50, even though I would lose the big zoom and IS, and even though my last experience with them was quite... intimidating. Price is a bit of an issue for me as well as the FZ30 (and similarly-priced D50) represents the upper limit of which I am willing to pay for a camera, and telephoto lenses to match the FZ30's zoom are definitely out of the question due to price!