PDA

View Full Version : non ettl flash on a 300d



lolee
11-05-2004, 06:13 PM
can anyone tell me if it is possible to use a non ettl flash on a 300d, because i don't like ettl at all, it is so unpredictable.

LoveOfSelene
11-05-2004, 08:58 PM
yes u can use non E-TTL flashes on a D-rebel

and i know the sync is 1/200, correct me if im wrong

but im sure u can use non E-TTL flashes on a D-rebel

~Loveofselene

lolee
11-07-2004, 06:36 PM
i've tried several brands of non ettl flashes, and they didn't fire at all?

jamison55
11-08-2004, 11:17 AM
I have a little Sunpak that I bought for my Oly 5050 that works fine on my DReb. My advice is to look for a completely non-dedicated auto flash of fairly modern design... Just be careful of the sync voltage.

LoveOfSelene
11-08-2004, 06:08 PM
i've tried several brands of non ettl flashes, and they didn't fire at all?

wow lolee, they all didn't work??

what brands have u tryed?

~loveofselene

lolee
11-08-2004, 10:25 PM
i've tried a very old toshiba and i expected it wouldn't work , but i also tried tuman and nissin, the 300d can only work on the ettl models. if anyone can tell me which brand's non ettl model with a gn 40 or above that will work on 300d, i'll be very happy.

i currently have a 420ex and a sigma 550 dg super, and i don't get stable results from both of them, it could be my technique is not up to par, but i get perfect results with g3 and 420ex nearly everytime.

LoveOfSelene
11-09-2004, 11:49 AM
i've tried a very old toshiba and i expected it wouldn't work , but i also tried tuman and nissin, the 300d can only work on the ettl models. if anyone can tell me which brand's non ettl model with a gn 40 or above that will work on 300d, i'll be very happy.

i currently have a 420ex and a sigma 550 dg super, and i don't get stable results from both of them, it could be my technique is not up to par, but i get perfect results with g3 and 420ex nearly everytime.

the 300d can work w/ non ttl models...i never heard of tuman or nissin before :confused:
anyway, i don't get y w/ the 420ex on ur 300d don't get "stable results". I get fine results from the 300d and the 10d.

*shrugs*
~loveofselene

suemccartin
11-10-2004, 07:26 AM
Please tell us more about what you were seeing with the Rebel and which flash unit the problem occured with.

I've got a 380EX which is an older unit but still ETTL. In full program mode it seems to work ok but the other night I was shooting in Tv mode and the backgrounds were coming out awfully dark, then I shot some more at night in sport mode with moderate lighting and I thought the pictures were all coming out a bit hot (i.e. overexposed). I've got a 550EX on the way to see if it can do any better, I know I need it for action since the 380 is just too slow on the recyle for fast action. Did you realize that there are two versions of ETTL? (At least that seems to be what I'm reading.) I don't seem to see near the problems with the 380 on my old G2 p&s. The newer digital Rebel, 10D, 20D supposedly have more fancy exposure modes that only the 550/580EX support. The sigma you refer to is supposedly a clone of the 550 but since canon doesn't license their protocols you have to wonder if it really supports all the same functions the 550EX does.

lolee
11-11-2004, 07:37 PM
ettl works well with g3 but not 300d(rebel), that's all i can say.