PDA

View Full Version : I'm new to this...

n00bie
05-04-2006, 11:05 PM
Hi,

I want to get into photography more and I have an old SLR but have never really learnt how to use it properly because I don't get "instant" results. This makes it hard to practice with.

I have decided I should get a digital but I can't decide whether to get an SLR or get a camera that displays the shot before I take it (like a Panasonic FZ-30).

I can afford a lowish end DSLR like the Nikon D50. But should I buy one just because it's an SLR? The FZ-30 is just as manual isn't it?

What's the difference?

Please help. Thanks in advance

timmciglobal
05-04-2006, 11:24 PM
D50 has replacable lenses and ability go use high ISO (high film speed) which is good indoors and in low light. D50 also shoots raw which lets you do things like white balance later. D50 will also focus faster and shoot faster.

I honestly don't give much value to the "preview LCD" since you can press "play" or "Review" instantly after shooting and see what you shot, and with RAW you can fix alot of exposure errors as long as your somewhat close in post processing.

Tim

Norm in Fujino
05-04-2006, 11:30 PM
Hi,

I want to get into photography more and I have an old SLR but have never really learnt how to use it properly because I don't get "instant" results. This makes it hard to practice with.

In this case, I think you'll get the best results with any camera if you sign up for a introductory photography course at your local community college or other similar institution. Get to know what photography is all about, how to set the camera for different situations, etc. It doesn't matter if the course is in film or digital, because the core basics are the same. It's the instruction that's important.

AlexMonro
05-05-2006, 02:56 AM