PDA

View Full Version : help please: low-lighting/no flash allowed?

nomad
05-04-2006, 12:56 PM
hi there. My husband has read quite a bit here, but this is my first time posting (he usually controls the camera).

We have a Kodak Z7590. I usually use one of the auto settings when i use it and have had decent luck. BUT, i have a challenge coming up (tomorrow, of course) and hope someone here can give me some advice. I'm going to a skating show where there will be varying lighting conditions throughout (show lighting is similar to concert lighting & also varies depending on how close the skaters & therefore lighting are to you.) I have seats close to the ice, so i'd really like to take some decent photos. 2 problems:

#1: Flash is not allowed. Big problem. With a very basic camera, i did get a few decent shots when skaters were directly in front of me & i hope for at least that.

#2: the issue of the camera automatically shutting off when it has been inactive, thereby losing whatever settings i have been using.

I would appreciate any advice you might have in terms of settings i might want to try, and issue #2. As i said, i am a relative novice. Good at seeing a photo, but son't know as much about the actual settings.

Thanks!

David Metsky
05-04-2006, 01:20 PM
1) This is going to be a problem. The only thing you can do is push the ISO up to 200 and hope for the best. You'll probably have best luck panning with the skaters, but you're going to have little light to work with. The camera is going to want to keep the shutter open longer and with a moving subject that's going to result in blurry images.

2) Many cameras have adjustable timers for inactive shutdown, and will allow you to turn that feature off. Check your owner's manual, I'm not familiar with that camera. Or, just touch the zoom very slighly every minute or so, that will reset the timer.

-dave-

DocsNotary
05-11-2006, 02:09 PM