PDA

View Full Version : Newbie seeking lens for Digital Rebel

dresen
11-01-2004, 05:41 PM
Hi.

As a total newbie regarding cameras and taking pictures, I seek some expert advice, to guide me around in this huge and fascinating world.

I have read some about digital slr's and have almost reached the conclusion that the canon digital rebel is the appropiate first time buy for me.

Haven't tested the thing in real life yet, but plan to visit a camera shop one of the following days.

I do have a concern towards the lenses. I have tried to read about it, but I find it hard to make any kind of judgement based on my poor practical knowledge (hopefully the visit to the shop will help a bit). I am intriqued by the rebate that canon gives on the Rebel and plan to by the camera with the EF-S 18-55 3.5-5.6 lens (as recommended here bobatkins (http://www.bobatkins.com/photography/digital/10d300dlenses.html)).
Could you guys recommend an additional lens that will expand my oppurtunities with the camera. I've read that the 28-135mm would be a great solution, but I find it a bit pricy(from a newbies perspective). I was hoping to spend max $130 after the additional rebates (that will approximately be $115). Is there such a lens, or should I rather wait until i have the money for a better and more expensive lens.

If you do recommend any lenses, please post a direct link to it.

I excuse my humble english, but as a dane I just rarely write any english.

Regards

LoveOfSelene
11-01-2004, 07:46 PM
From what I can think of off of my head. The 50mm f/1.8 (~$70) is the only Canon lenes under $130. and i believe a 28-105mm USM version III is around $130 i believe. (thats the most selling beginner's lens I sell at my shop)

I do recomend the 28-135mm but it's is like you said it's kind pricy for a beginner lens.

From what i been hearing, sigma lenses are good as well and suposed to be cheaper

hope this helps

timmciglobal
11-01-2004, 09:27 PM