PDA

View Full Version : Lighting

lksprague
04-28-2006, 07:00 PM
I am fairly new to the photography world and I'm wanting to get into portraits and weddings. However, I'm not sure on the lighting that would best suit me.

I've been looking at buying some lighting and I'm not sure if I sould get flood lighting or strobes. I'm currently set up in my basement which is bright enough; however, I get horrible shadows.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

JTL
04-28-2006, 09:26 PM
I am fairly new to the photography world and I'm wanting to get into portraits and weddings. However, I'm not sure on the lighting that would best suit me.

I've been looking at buying some lighting and I'm not sure if I sould get flood lighting or strobes. I'm currently set up in my basement which is bright enough; however, I get horrible shadows.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.Try reading Master Lighting Guide for Portrait Photographers by Christopher Grey...it's kind of the lighting bible...

Another book that has some studio lighting ideas for those on a budget is Digital SLR Pro Secrets by David Busch. The info is in Chapter 6, so, if you don't need the whole book, just take notes from it in the bookstore...

lksprague
04-29-2006, 09:08 AM
Thanks, I'll check them out as soon as I can!!

calona
04-30-2006, 04:02 PM

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.

Where are the horrible shadows coming from i.e. the existing lights or windows letting in the daylight ? How high is the basement ceiling and what floor dimensions ?
One of the problems of using strobes is that you cannot see where the light is falling. With flood lighting you might run into colour correction problems. One would have to know all these parameters before giving advice.

lksprague
05-01-2006, 03:35 PM