PDA

View Full Version : Shooting a Band



thartsell
03-29-2006, 03:49 PM
Accidentally posted this in the wrong forum....

I am going to use my Canon Digital Rebel to shoot and band and wondered what's the best way to set it up so that my flash doesn't flood out the colored stage lights and retains the overall performance feel.

thanks,
TH

GabOrcinus
03-30-2006, 08:41 AM
Accidentally posted this in the wrong forum....

I am going to use my Canon Digital Rebel to shoot and band and wondered what's the best way to set it up so that my flash doesn't flood out the colored stage lights and retains the overall performance feel.

thanks,
TH
I've never shot in a concert, but all I can say is: Use Aperture Priority, open your aperture and use a high ISO. Then check what shutter speed it lets you shoot with. If lighting allows, you may not need your flash.

ktixx
03-31-2006, 09:19 AM
I agree with the above post -
Don't use flash if you want to maintain the colored lighting effect, just use a wide aperture and a high ISO.
In addition - shoot in RAW it will allow you to extract a lot more detail from improper exposures and will make it easier to properly white balance..
Ken