PDA

View Full Version : Focussing and lens quality

Rhys
03-26-2006, 04:00 PM
How do people find the Pentax *istD(all models) focus in a variety of light conditions?

How do people find Pentax lenses for quality (resolution, aberations, fringing, distortion etc)?

How do people find the AA batteries to be, in use?

jeisner
03-26-2006, 06:07 PM
How do people find the Pentax *istD(all models) focus in a variety of light conditions?

I find it does depend a bit on the lens, brighter lenses obviously more responsive than darker ones (in low light)...

I have compared to my friends 20d, and yes his camera is a bit faster (than the D), but at the expense of bigger and heavier lenses.. My pentax is fast enough for my needs, I am not a pro sports photographer and haven't missed shots that I can think of due to the slightly slower AF (which is mainly due to in body AF motor rather than in lens like c&n). I have both the DS and the D, the D is a little faster than the DS, I also find AF using CRV3 batteries more responsive than using NIMH AA rechargables... As far as I can tell the AF is very accurate in all light conditions (except with some Sigma lenses, but that is IMO Sigma's issue)..

How do people find Pentax lenses for quality (resolution, aberations, fringing, distortion etc)?

The lens quality is top notch in my experience, lighter/smaller generally due to the lack of in lens focus motor (and generally Pentax design principle of being small).. My DA 16-45 f4 compares very well against my friends Canon 17-45 f4, and is much lighter and almost half the price.. Pentax primes like the limited series are amongst the best available I think.. I am still saving for the 31mm ltd, but have used it and it is amazing...

http://www.luminous-landscape.com/columns/sm-02-05-02.shtml