PDA

View Full Version : Im a newbie at this...Can some explain macro's...?

MedicinalHerbs
10-25-2004, 07:01 PM
Hey Guys...
Hopefully someone can explain Macrop[hotography...im new to the scene and trying to get the hang of my dx7440 (kodak)

I am primarily looking at doing macro's of plant matter, i have a few questions

1. Will my dx7330 do macros without an additional lens...?
1a: If i do need alenses, what one should i start with ?

2. Why do my pictures become blurry when i zoom in too much?
can someone explain things like aperature and shutter speed....?

I am using this unit for mostly close ups, what are the optimal setting for close ups?

Please forgive my digi-ignorange...but im new and trying to learn....

pgoelz
10-26-2004, 04:34 AM
Yes, the 7440 will do macros without any additional lenses.... within its design limits. If you look in the manual you will find that the minimum distance changes when you zoom.... you cannot focus as close when you are zoomed in. Put it in macro mode and try focusing at various distances within the range given in the manual and see if you can get as close as you need to.

You may find that if you are using the built in flash, extreme closeups are not evenly illuminated due to the location of the flash.