PDA

View Full Version : Low-End Camera Buying Advice

Eptiger
03-02-2006, 05:29 PM
I recently got an internship for this summer, which means that I'll have money and so I can spend some of my savings right now that I would've otherwise rationed carefully. I've always wanted a digital camera, and so I plan on buying one before this summer. I really want a small (size is important to me for portability) camera for under $500 (preferably in the $200-$400 range) for point-and-click purposes with good quality. I've been looking into Canon's ELPH line because I've personally seen better performance from Canon's low-end digital cameras than competitors (though I'm no expert), and so I'd prefer to stick to Canon.

I was going to buy said camera in the middle of May, but I was thinking that maybe I should just order one next week in time for spring break and get some pictures from the rest of the semester and stuff. Would that be a bad idea? In other words, do you think a better camera is on the way in the next couple of months or the price will go down among online retailers? I've been thinking about getting a Canon SD500 ELPH, is there anything wrong with this model or is there something that's a better value out there?

Other considerations: standard zoom is fine, image quality is a big component (probably an 8 on a scale from 1 to 10), I'm just using it for personal purposes (pictures of the place where I'll be doing my internships, random scenery around where I live, special events, etc), and I'd like for it to have a decent LCD despite being so small

Thanks a bunch!

Eptiger

TrigunKenshin
03-02-2006, 05:54 PM
Hello, I'm glad there's someone out there that also shares the same thing as me. We are practically looking for the same thing, lol. I'm still looking myself, but I'm looking and leaning towards the Canon powershot SD450.

Right now, on amazon.com, it is only 280$ with a free viking 256 mb SD memory card, w/ FREE GROUND SHIPPING.