PDA

View Full Version : Fixing Differing Exposures

AaronBBrown
01-28-2006, 08:38 AM
I'm trying to make the best out of what I think is a cool shot, but a poor exposure. I am a complete amateur at photoshop, so I could use some assistance with technique.

Here is the before picture:
http://www.soggydiving.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/IMG_1204before.jpg

Obviously, the rock is overexposed (I used a fill flash on low power because she was back-lit) and the rest is underexposed.

After using the magic lasso extensively, here is what I was able to produce, by manually adjusting the background, her face, and the rock:
http://www.soggydiving.com/gallery/albums/userpics/10001/IMG_1204after.jpg

The biggest problem I am having is the edge on the rock appears unnatural and I'm not sure how to make it blend better. Any suggestions are welcome. I imagine there is probably something I can do with layers, but I just don't know enough about those techniques. If anyone has any links on this type of topic (disperate exposures in a single photo), I'd appreciate it.

The original shots are much higher quality, but the resizing caused some artifacts to appear, so please disregard that aspect. There is also additional editing to be done to make this into a real decent shot and this is just a rough cut.

Thanks!
Aaron

JTL
01-28-2006, 09:30 AM
A big part of the problem is that your subject is out-of-focus. Another is the composition. You have a very bright foreground object and a very dark subject to start with...your eye naturally goes to the bright object...the rock. So, I ask...is it a picture of the rock or the person? And I'm not being sarcastic.

In all honesty, it's not a great photo, so all the photoshopping in the world will not really improve the overall shot IMO. Exposure, focus and composition are all off. But, you've done an amazing job so far in photoshop for someone new to all this.