PDA

View Full Version : D70 or EOS20D? BEGINNER NEEDS HELP...PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!

nightvision
10-18-2004, 11:31 PM
I have no experience on SLR's(YET), but I would like to invest in good camera that will last me a long time, as I do not intend to buy the newest models every second year or so. I NEED to know which of these is somewhat easier to learn and operate so that I can get the hang of using a SLR camera. PLEASE help me before I invest some serious cash in the wrong camera for me!!!!!!!!!

Ant
10-19-2004, 04:08 AM
I don't think you'll go wrong with either camera, neither could be described as easier to learn. Just go into a shop and try both of them out to see which you like better.

maflynn
10-19-2004, 05:40 AM
Depends on your needs, since its your money and only you can make that decision.

For me I went with the D70 for the following reasons:
1. The 20d was out of stock everywhere I went, so I ended up comparing the D70 with the 10D.
2. I liked the feel, balance, construction of the 10d.
3. I couldnít justify the cost difference between the D70 and the unseen 20D. 4. I donít need to produce 8mp pictures.
5. I plan on keeping this camera several years not every second or third, and I believe Nikon Quality affords me that.

I went to numerous camera stores asking lots of questions. They all came back and recommended the Nikon D70.

For my needs, I wanted a faster camera (faster then the P&S), Having raw format was a plus, better optics and more control over the various controls. I was in Hawaii this past summer and my Sony DSC P72 had problems on the ocean. The auto setting over-exposed the images.

Since your starting out (as I am), Iíd recommend the D70, purely from a price perspective. The Canon 20D has more bells and whistles, since its newer but will you use them, will you use all of the bells and whistles of the D70.