PDA

View Full Version : Infrared photography on D60/20D

Jeff Keller
10-17-2004, 04:33 PM
Hi all, after reading about infrared photography I wanted to give it a try. I own an EOS-D60 but also have the 20D here on loan, so I wanted to know if anyone has tried IR shooting with these? Any tips? What filters do you recommend? I'll probably be using a lens with 67 mm threads, FYI.

Thanks,
Jeff

ReF
11-01-2004, 11:17 PM
Yo Jeff, I hope you get updated about all new posts or otherwise nobody's gonna know I replied to such an old post. Well since you said you've been reading about IR photography, I'll assume you know the basics. I'm pretty new at it too so all I can really offer is this address and a few itty bitty "tips":
www.wrotniak.net/photo/infrared/#NEED
I've also read the article about IR on dpFWIW.com
Sorry, no luck finding info on which cameras work well for IR or which filters should be used. All I could find was a bunch of info on older 2meg Olympus Cams and a lot of people saying that most of the 3+ meg cams block out A LOT of IR. I also read that HOYA R72 or equivalent filters give the best chance of success if you are unsure of what your cam can handle. I also found that the Hot Mirror built into all the new cameras can sometimes be removed and replaced with a piece of optical glass. Doing so will allow you to shoot at speeds of 1/100 or faster, but the modification would render the camera useless for regular shooting. You can also destroy your camera in the process, so it's not recommended for your primary cam.