PDA

View Full Version : Lens filters

nelsonsatc
01-10-2006, 10:30 AM
I am fairly new at photography so my question might be a little amatuer but I need to know what is the best kind of lens filter to buy to take outdoor landscape pictures, sunshine and seascapes. I just got a new Nikon D70s and so far I'm loving it!

Thank you for your help.
nelsonsatc

JLV
01-10-2006, 10:41 AM
You do not need any filters. You might want UV filter primarily to protect your lens. A polarizing filter is helpful in reducing glare and making the sky bluer. As said before, you do not need any filters.

WildWinds
01-25-2006, 07:55 PM
Technically, yes. You don't need filters. Have a washed out sky, you need a filter, have lots of glare? Need a polarizer. Slow a waterfall down? Neutral Density... You don't need filters, but if you want to improve your photos in some situations then I'd suggest getting filters. For landscape photography I'd recommend a polarizer, graduated neutral density filter (so the sky isn't overexposed) and for all around use a UV filter or other protector for the lens that can stay on all the time. I'm pretty sure you'll get more that fit your needs as you advance along in photography but the polarizer and ND I view as must-haves. Hope you get what you're looking for.

ReF
01-26-2006, 04:53 AM