PDA

View Full Version : Pentax ist D2 lens

Shortpant
01-04-2006, 10:31 PM
Super Wide Angle SMCP-DA 14mm f2.8 ED
Telephoto SMCP-FA 77mm f1.8 limited
I read Pentax and BHphoto features of these two lenses.
I kind understand a little bit difference between these two lenses.
One is super wide angle the other is telephoto.
For the image quality witch one is better?
My Camera is pentax ist d2 all I knew is Pentax lens DA series is for Digital camera. But I can use all other Pentax lens. 77mm f1.8 is equal to 51.33mm
f1.2 in 35mm film?
MY first SLR camera and I am a beginner
Thanks!

jeisner
01-05-2006, 12:03 AM
Super Wide Angle SMCP-DA 14mm f2.8 ED
Telephoto SMCP-FA 77mm f1.8 limited
I read Pentax and BHphoto features of these two lenses.
I kind understand a little bit difference between these two lenses.
One is super wide angle the other is telephoto.
For the image quality witch one is better?
My Camera is pentax ist d2 all I knew is Pentax lens DA series is for Digital camera. But I can use all other Pentax lens. 77mm f1.8 is equal to 51.33mm
f1.2 in 35mm film?
MY first SLR camera and I am a beginner
Thanks!

OK the 14mm and the 77mm are two very different kinds of lens, so it is hard to directly compare the image quality, needless to say the 77mm is a more optically refined lens... the 14mm is a very nice lens, but the 77 is amazingy good...

The 77mm is 77mm on 35mm film and f1.8. On digital it will give you the equivelent FOV (field of view) of a 115mm lens... It will still give you the same amount of light so it is still an f1.8 (there is an effect on the DOF but I will leave that alone for now)...

astro
01-05-2006, 03:14 AM
OK the 14mm and the 77mm are two very different kinds of lens, so it is hard to directly compare the image quality, needless to say the 77mm is a more optically refined lens... the 14mm is a very nice lens, but the 77 is amazingy good...