PDA

View Full Version : Looking for a digital camera (My first one), But I'm a photography newbie

Azure
07-13-2004, 01:52 PM
I currently own a Sony CCD-TRV67 camcorder, and I usually use it to take pictures, but the thing is, it wasn't ment to take pictures, so I have to do this:
1. Remove camcorder from case, along with AC adapter, and plug into outlet. (Really annoying because the AC adapter cable is usually very tangled)
2. Record video of the object that I want to take a picture of.
3. Turn camera off, remove AC adapter, move camera to PC, plug AC adapter into outlet near computer, plug in video cable.
4. Run InterVideo, push play on camcorder, and take as many snap shots as possible.
5. Check to see how many actually worked (The majority of them have a white bar in the middle and some don't refresh and just take a blurred picture of the first snapshot taken).
6. Keep taking snapshots and checking them (Usually ~15 mins)

This is just too much for me. And when I actually do get a picture taken properly, it's going to be in poor quality:
http://img17.photobucket.com/albums/v50/Azure326g/Set_Up.jpg
http://img17.photobucket.com/albums/v50/Azure326g/Games.jpg
http://img17.photobucket.com/albums/v50/Azure326g/Gap.jpg

So, I definetly need a digital camera, but the thing is, I don't know much about them. I've only used 1 digital camera before, the Olympus D380, and that was only for the Computer Club. I don't know much about some of the terms, like "CCD."

I was watching HSN recently and they had this (http://www.hsn.com/cnt/prod/default.aspx?webp_id=1546212&web_id=1546212&sz=0&sf=&dept=&cat=&subcat=&gs=&attr=&ocm=sekw#) camera up. It seemed real nice, and they kept raving about it being "super ccd," and that that would make it the equivalent of a 6 Megapixel camera. What do you guys think of this camera? Is it decent? The only downside I see in it is that the video mode doesn't feature audio, which I really want.