PDA

View Full Version : Another one question FZ3 or FZ20?

lumixfan
10-13-2004, 09:07 AM
Hi

I have a few questions. I have decided to buy either FZ3 or FZ20. My requirements is print high quality upto 8 x 10.
Take plenty of baby pictures indoors and outdoors by myself and my wife (novice). I can handle big cameras (have a nikon film slr).
-questions
1. Can fz3 images at high quality print razor sharp 8 x 10 images.
2. How does fz20 feel for total novices in handling the camera. Does it feel heavy for novices? I am going to a store with my wife. But it is difficult to make a judgement there. I have seen both cameras. fz3 is really compact. fz20 has a SLR feel to it. I like the FZ20, but our current intention is to take lots of shots of baby. WIll FZ20 or FZ3 be more suitable for this purpose from both lots of usability and picture quality.

PS: I like fz20 as a way to grow and learn digital tricks, but I am afraid we will miss out taking lots of pictures. My wife will be taking pictures in the daytime and I am more into enthusiast photography on weekends.

Thanks

brad nichol
10-13-2004, 05:15 PM
Both the FZ3 and FZ20 will produce razor sharp 8 by 10s, so there is really no concern there, files from the FZ3 can actually be interpolated to make great A3plus prints so fear not.

The real issue is that the FZ20 has more features (ie flash hot shoe, manual focus etc) which may be of benefit and the FZ3 is beautifully compact.

The FZ3 is the type of camera you would take anywhere with you and the FZ20 may give you cause to ponder because of its increased heft.

Don't let the lower specs of the FZ3 fool you though, this is an extremely capable camera with full manual control (except focus) and lots of very nice features.

I bought an FZ3 recently mainly because the compact size was best for my intended purpose, however I have already used it on 2 professional jobs with great success despite the fact it was bought for other more family orientated purposes.