PDA

View Full Version : pet photo question

kbshadow
11-26-2005, 02:04 PM
I'm new to photography and digital.

Have a Canon SD550 and like it.

I'm happy with most of the photos I have taken except my Dogs photo.

I have a very healthy and very shiney and very black,black lab.

I want to get a good photo of here face.

If I use the flash she is washed out and with no flash she is to dark.

Thanks in advance for any tips on how to get a good photo of her.

kbshadow
Stockton Ca

ktixx
11-26-2005, 03:06 PM
Either go outside in the daytime (bright overcast for best lighting), or in a room with lots of ambient light so you don't have to use the flash. Try turning the ISO to 200 or 400 and if you have to run the file though a noise reduction program. Make sure if you are indoors to set your camera to tungsten light or florecent light (depending on what you are under - most likely tungsten), Auto White Balance doesn't get it right all the time.
Good Luck
Ken

kbshadow
11-26-2005, 03:31 PM
Either go outside in the daytime (bright overcast for best lighting), or in a room with lots of ambient light so you don't have to use the flash. Try turning the ISO to 200 or 400 and if you have to run the file though a noise reduction program. Make sure if you are indoors to set your camera to tungsten light or florecent light (depending on what you are under - most likely tungsten), Auto White Balance doesn't get it right all the time.
Good Luck
Ken
Ken

Thanks, will do all of the above.

kbshadow
Stockton ca.

kornhauser
11-26-2005, 09:53 PM
I've done several animal shots for my department's K-9 dogs. I've found that outside; with fill-flash, produces the best results.

ReF
11-27-2005, 01:45 AM