PDA

View Full Version : Help with still indoor shots of books

MikoLone
11-02-2005, 04:23 PM
I am trying to take a pictures of these books for work but it really isn't working out. We have bought some lights and umbrellas so that we could take out shadows and have enough light but the covers of the books are blurry. I also got a tripod so I wouldn't have to worry about keeping the camera steady.

What can I do? Is there some setting on the camera that I can do or something like that.

Thanks for any help.

Michael

Balrog
11-02-2005, 09:50 PM
Which camera are you using? what are your current settings?

Vich
11-02-2005, 09:53 PM
Can you also post a 100% crop?

MikoLone
11-04-2005, 01:29 PM
I am using a Kodak EasyShare Z7590 and I have been using the Auto button. with no flash.

I am a newbie so I wouldn't even know what to say about the setting other than that.

I am not even sure what 100% crop is but I am guessing that you want the full picture. I am going to attach the latest picture I have tried.

Thank you for replying.

ktixx
11-04-2005, 01:45 PM
I believe a 100% crop is when you take the full size image, crop a small section (IE: book cover) and put it on the forum at 100% so that we can see what you mean when you say "the covers of the books are blurry"

MikoLone
11-04-2005, 02:24 PM
I edited above. Notice how you can't really read the writing on the front book. I would like that writing to be crisp so that you can look and it and read what it says.

Vich
11-04-2005, 02:42 PM
I edited above. Notice how you can't really read the writing on the front book. I would like that writing to be crisp so that you can look and it and read what it says.
We cannot read this one any better than the first.

In photoshop, take the original and under VIEW select "Actual Size". Now crop part of the writing so that it is about 1/2 of the screen wide. Don't resize it.