PDA

View Full Version : What software for Digital Images?

Cannibal Corpse
10-04-2004, 01:39 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie, my A95 is on its way (can't wait!) and need to know what is the best software for newbie imgae manipulation (red-eye, etc.). Is PhotoShop Elements recommended?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

judge9847
10-04-2004, 03:15 AM
Hi,
I am a newbie, my A95 is on its way (can't wait!) and need to know what is the best software for newbie imgae manipulation (red-eye, etc.). Is PhotoShop Elements recommended?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
There are lots of packages that will help you with what you want to do, from Photoshop CS (Creative Suite!) at the high (expensive) end, to some free programs which can be just as effective.

You have to decide if you're only going to use it for digital photo manipulation or if you want to do other things with it as well, like creating original computer art work or maybe some web design and so on. If it really is only for photos then Paint Shop Pro version 9 has just been released in two versions. Have a look here (http://www.jasc.com) and you'll see what I mean. You'll also see the full-blown version of PSP and what it's features are and if they interest you or not.

Photoshop Elements has just been released as Version 3 so if you decide you want that one, don't go for earlier versions. There are a lot of improvements in the new one.

There are some free ones like Irfanview (http://www.irfanview.com) which is highly regarded by a lot of people or The Gimp (http://www.gimp.org) which again has its followers who can be quite passionate about it. It's got a bit of a quirky installation program - you used to have to download that bit separately if I remember correctly - but it also does the job you want and it is free.