PDA

View Full Version : Help needed with Canon S2 IS settings

KKAOS
10-31-2005, 01:20 AM
Hey guys, im a newbie here, dont know if this is the right section to place this post in, but I need some help !

My problem is with the shot I took with my Powershot S2 IS camera a few nights ago at a recent indoor car show which inside is very well lit up with lighting. My problem is that the shot came out very "dull" looking with no true vibrant colour. The shot was taken on "auto" setting with no adjustment and no flash.

http://i.pbase.com/v3/38/608838/1/51482730.FridaySetup156.jpg

Now this shot below was taken on canon A75 in the same lighting conditions at a different show with the exact same car, as you can notice, its more rich in colour than the above photo. I just cant remember what setting it was taken at, and for the canon users out there who have used the S2 IS, which setting is best to use for such conditions, eg. Av ? Tv ? Auto ?

http://i.pbase.com/v3/38/608838/1/51564496.IMG_0017.jpg

Can someone please explain to me what im doing wrong ?

Thanks for all your help, much appreciated.

Balrog
10-31-2005, 05:58 AM
There should be a Saturation setting somewhere, you can boost that. Check your manual.

Firas
10-31-2005, 09:05 AM
In my S2 manual it's on page 94 titled "Changing the Photo Effect". You want to select the "Vivid" setting. That'll give you a good boost in the colors.

Hope that helps.

JTL
10-31-2005, 12:45 PM
There should be a Saturation setting somewhere, you can boost that. Check your manual.Balrog is right...it's one of the "Custom Effect" settings...instructions for using the Custom Effect settings and increasing saturation start on page 94 of the manual as well, under the heading Changing the Photo Effect.