PDA

View Full Version : New Rebel underexposing. Why??

Jaxi
09-28-2004, 06:33 PM
My friend has a new Digital Rebel and most of her photos with flash EZ430 are underexposing. We've looked up in the book on exposure compensation and it states that option is not usable on manual mode???? This just doesn't sound right to me. Everytime you set the compensation, it balances the shot when the shutter is partially pressed. She plays around withthe film speed adn shutter speed to get a good exposure, but may have to take 4 shots. She uses a Seconic Light meter and shoots what the meter states. What is she doing wrong? I even shot a wedding a few weeks ago with it and it also underexposed for me. I have been shooting weddings for over 10 years and have never had my exposures off in so many shots. Any help would be greatly appreciated. I would very much like to buy this camera but not if there is so much work involved in getting the shots down pat. Too much work in shooting sports or children.

BryanMsi
10-24-2004, 05:29 PM
I've never seen a camera in 10 years that would consistently underexpose as badly as my Rebel (and I have had 2 Rebels - both had the same problem).

The true cause is a bit hard to nail down, but I think it has to do with the way Canon designed (crippled is a better word) the metering system on the Rebel. Basically, so as not to steal sales away from its $500 more expensive 10D, Canon took away your ability to do much with the meter. Its default mode biases the overall metering based on whatever is selected as an autofocus point.

So if you have an autofocus point on a light part of your image, the metering system thinks the whole scene is bright and adjusts the exposure accordingly - resulting in underexposed shots. Its almost like a spot meter tied to the autofocus point.

Of course, I could be totally off-base here, but this seems to match my experience and others who shoot with the Rebel.