PDA

View Full Version : From Nikon FM (for 30 years!) to what?

Raven
07-10-2004, 02:26 PM
Wow! Glad to find this forum.

I am not a professional photographer. Just a graphic designer using a Nikon FM, Nikkor 50mm lens, for a long time with a Vivitar 75-205 telephoto. Still an excellent camera that has taken all my shots from personal holidays to ski trips to nature/tourism scenes for design work. Mostly in slides that used to be professionally scanned to CMYK files for my work. These days I can shoot prints and get a CD burned at WalMart cheap and then tuned up in Photoshop for half of my design needs.

I've been thinking about digital for years. Price, quality, reliability, etc have been factors holding me back. I look at some models that sound right in their promotional lit, but later I read stuff that I'm glad I didn't buy.

Today I've read some good stuff on this forum, and would like to post the question... which is the right one for my purposes? :-)
Here are some key factors.

- Must look and feel like a CAMERA, not a cigarette box!
- 4 megapixels or better so I can reproduce high quality reproductions up to 8x10.
- I live in Northern Canada and shoot a lot in winter. Cold temps - Minus 10 to minus 30 degree Celsius. So the electronics need to work. The zoom needs to work when cold.When I go from outside to inside, I put on the camera case to let my Nikon warm up gradually to stop the condensation forming on the metal.
- And I wear gloves. Which means the controls have be more than things you push with toothpicks, if you know what I mean.
- I can't have shutter lag. Not to take critical skiing or snowmobiling shots
- Colour has to be gorgeous. Of course.
- I need a comparable zoom feature to replace my Vivitar. (Having NOT to drag a telephoto around would be too cool!)
- I wear glasses so the viewfinder has to be clear and accurate.
- What about low light situations? What's to consider?