PDA

View Full Version : Close up Jewelelry Photographs

Benwaite
10-03-2005, 03:41 AM
Hi i am extremely new to the world of digital photography.

I purchased last year a Cannon Powershot Pro1 for close up images of rings earrings etc on the adivce of a shop assistant. I have since been informed that this is not the type of camera suitable for this type of photography.

Does anyone know what type of camera/ kit that I need to be able to takle excelent close up images. The Poershot i have has real rouble focusing close up?

tim11
10-03-2005, 05:28 PM
I'm not a professional but I believe Canon PowerShot Pro1 should do the job better than most - it has minimum macro distance of 3 cm. It should be good enough even for glossy brochures/pamphlets or even posters.
I recommend you get a tripod and [maybe but not necessary] an optional macro lens.
Have you tried MACRO mode in PRO1?

Coltess
10-03-2005, 06:11 PM
If you are going to shoot a lot of jewelry you might consider the MK Gem eBox. http://www.mkdigitaldirect.com/lighting-systems/products/mk-gem-ebox.htm

Shutterbug (October 2005, p. 82) has a favorable review of it.

tim11
10-03-2005, 08:23 PM
Notice the cameras they offer with Coltess MK Gem eBox Package, Canon A series which are no match against PRO1.

Coltess
10-03-2005, 09:45 PM
You can get the box without the camera too. :p The reviewer used it (the box) with a dSLR.

tim11
10-03-2005, 10:04 PM
Coltess, what I was really getting at was PRO1 is a good enough camera even if you buy an eBox as aid. Obviously, if vendor offer A-series in the package then PRO1 must be good enough. If you take lots of jewellry, of course, something like the eBOX will make life more easier for you.
Benwaite, you should try PRO1 in MACRO mode first if you haven't done that already. I find it hard to believe you have trouble focussing close up. It's not the camera, you just have to master that beast.