PDA

View Full Version : DSLR or P&S (specifically: D50 or CP8800)

Quorthon
09-16-2005, 03:40 AM
Hi all,

Been reading this helpful forum for a while and I'm sure I can get some good advice. I currently own the Nikon Coolpix 4500 and I love it. However, I want to take the level of my pictures up a notch, namely, getting closer-to-film quality, more 'realistic' views.

It comes down to either going DSLR - D50, or upgrading to a newer Point&Shoot cam, such as the 8800. I have read DPReviews and other sources (such as http://www.e-fotografija.com/artman/publish/article_738.shtml), but would like to get some more specific answers for my needs.

I would appreciate hearing any thoughts or personal experience with any of the above mentioned, as this currently seems like a tough choice... I am of course not a professional photographer. I have some knowledge of Aperture, Shutter, ISO etc', and willing to learn some more. My main targets are my lovely little 1.5 year old, some outdoor pics, trips etc', and some nature photography. Here's what I gathered until now:

Points in favor of DSLR:
- Important: Bottom line - Final quality is probably unmatched from what I understand so far.
- Lens upgrade possibility (will the 18-55 kit lens give me what Im looking for in DSLR quality?..).
- Easier manual focus (is this true?..)
- Im just crazy for the narrow DOF effect - object in focus - background and foreground blurry. Is this much better achieved with DSLR vs. P&S?
- Quick shutter response time. Is there a big difference between D50 and CP8800?

Points against DSLR:
- I dont know HOW professional and acquainted with the various exposure settings one has to be to get decent results. Not 'Magazine-cover' reult, just better than my current CP4500 results...