PDA

View Full Version : Exposure Compensation - How Does it Work?

spoonbill1970
09-15-2005, 01:54 AM
Hello all,

Been having great fun with my A95 this past couple of months. I'm a newbie as far as photography is concerned, but I'm enjoying learning about things like Av, macro etc. I love taking "background blurred" close-ups.

I was wondering if anyone could shed any light on how EV + or - works?
I can see what it does, but what is it about the settings that it actually changes? I've read that it moves something a stop up or down. Is it the f. stop? If so, by how much does it move it? Why do we not just change it manually if this is the case? Or does it increase/decrease the shutter speed?
I notice that when I have the camera on "Manual" that this option is unavailable, so I presume it has something to do with the things above.

Thanks in advance for your help.

Spoonbill1970

Norm in Fujino
09-15-2005, 05:16 AM
I was wondering if anyone could shed any light on how EV + or - works? I can see what it does, but what is it about the settings that it actually changes?