PDA

View Full Version : Depth of Field and "F-Series" cameras

ARP
09-24-2004, 10:53 AM
I aplogize if this has been covered in another thread:

I'm a photgraphic novice when it come to the technical aspects of photography (e.g. focal legnths, aperature settings, etc.) so hopefully I can describe what I'm looking for in layman's terms.

I'm looking for a camera that can show good depth of field. Meaning, parts of the frame in focus while the rest of the frame is out of focus. I know that this capability is related to the aperature of the camera, the lens, and some other factors, but I'm not sure of the exact interplay. It seems that with most non-SLR cameras, that capability is just not there or works poorly because of the small lens size in most digicams. I know the ideal is for me to get a D-SLR, but my budget doesn't allow it. I was wondering if Panasonic's ultra zoom cameras have that capability. Thanks in advance.

propwash
09-24-2004, 05:40 PM
I aplogize if this has been covered in another thread:

I'm looking for a camera that can show good depth of field. Meaning, parts of the frame in focus while the rest of the frame is out of focus.

I'm not sure I understand your post. To me, "good depth of field" is when a high percentage of the photo is in focus, both those areas closer to the camera and those areas further away.

You are right in that it is related to the aperture. In general, the smaller the aperture (higher the f-stop), the more depth of field you will have. Conversely, if you opt for a large aperture (low f-stop number) you will have less depth of field, and only those objects very close to the same distance from the camera as your subject will be in focus. Depth of field also changes with the focal length (amount of zoom) you have selected.