PDA

View Full Version : D-SLR vs Digital-Compact Camera

halim
09-23-2004, 10:01 PM
i'm new to digital photography and photography itself..purchased an canoon A80,and planning to get a better camera,but still confused which to choose,an SLR or compact..i've been reading a lot from the internet,cd roms,books,but there are things i still don't understand..

1. is how SLR system makes the camera produced better pics??..from what i read the main difference is mainly on how does the viewfinder works..

2. is it true if i use SLR the only way to see the object is through the viewfinder?? unlike a compact camera which can use LCD,EVF or TTL to see the object

3. how about the recent advances in digital camera such as..olympus 8080,coolpix 8700,which has many helpfull features such as live histogram..,which is better compared to the same priced digital SLR such as nikon d-70 or cannon eos300d(which is now on "sale",with a price below US$800 with lens included)

well that's bout all i guess..sorry if i ask too much.. , so in case someone knows articles or site that can help..please notify me..thanks :)

Billiam
09-25-2004, 09:34 PM
The greneral wisdom is:

1 - DSLR's have larger sensors, so they perform better under low light
The larger sensors require longer focal length lenses, which allow the photographer to selectively reduce depth of field when it's desireable (hard to do in a p&s)
DSRL's meter and focus faster, so they are more suitable for action shots
DSLR's can use the existing catalog of lenses from their respective manufacturers, which can be very good (though not cheap)
The better DSLR's are probably more rugged than most p&s cams
Battery life in the SLR's is supposed to be much longer than in p&s cams

2 - True for all slr's

3 - See #1

Rhys
09-26-2004, 02:21 PM
Allow me to confuse you by mentioning the Canon S1 IS, Nikon 5700 and Panasonic FZ-10.