PDA

View Full Version : Best online camera dealer?


GMNelson
07-09-2004, 08:23 AM
Looking for general concensus - which offer best price, delivery, and service.

Nick
07-09-2004, 08:39 AM
I've been happy using BHphotovideo.com , Ritzcamera.com , and newegg.com ( although newegg is not limited to cameras )

I find it pleasant dealing with B&H since I live quite close to the actual store, but their online site is just as expansive as the store itself. I've heard some bad things about the quality of their packaging, though I've never gotten anything from them beat up.

I've bought things from Ritz and used their 'we replace it no matter what ' warranty nice, worked lovely. However, it was a brick and mortar store, not online :)

jamison55
07-09-2004, 11:04 AM
I'll second the NewEgg and throw in Adorama. Though I've never bought a camera from NewEgg, I've purchased tons of computer parts and their combination of price and service are second to none. Their shipping is lightning fast as well. I have also done business with Adorama. I recommend finding what you want on their site, then giving them a call. I recently called to ask a question about an item on the site, mentioning that I was shopping around, and the salesman knocked 10% off the price on the spot (and without me asking). Fast delivery as well.

Jake Conner
07-10-2004, 10:16 AM
Add normancamera.com, my hometown store, to the list. They're great, though their prices can sometimes be a bit high.

Jake

Villella
07-25-2004, 05:14 AM
Did use adorama ages ago and they were great, but not sure that the prices are the lowest. Recently used Butterfly Photo, which had one of the lower prices to be found, and had a real good experience. Even returned a lens filter I decided I didn't want with no hassle.

shkj
07-26-2004, 05:44 AM
I have used a site called Harmony Computers to buy about 7 different cameras and have had zero problems
free ground shipping
and generous return policy

http://www.shopharmony.com

RobbieG
08-21-2004, 09:51 PM
Does anyone have any experience with A&M Photoworld?
http://www.amphotoworld.com/

George Riehm
08-21-2004, 10:13 PM
Add normancamera.com, my hometown store, to the list. They're great, though their prices can sometimes be a bit high.

Jake

Hi Jake, Which store? I think they have a new store in Grand Rapids. I have bought 3 Nikons from NC. Great people. Try to keep the purchase of lenses and accessories local.

Sumora
08-22-2004, 01:07 AM
Does anyone have any experience with A&M Photoworld?
http://www.amphotoworld.com/


Found this site from another thread and checked it out. This company has very bad reviews. Take a look for yourself.

Resellers Ratings...A&M photo world (http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1988.html)

RobbieG
08-22-2004, 08:03 AM
Found this site from another thread and checked it out. This company has very bad reviews. Take a look for yourself.

Resellers Ratings...A&M photo world (http://www.resellerratings.com/seller1988.html)
Ha! I've never seen so many bad reviews!

Thanks for the link!

Augie
09-07-2004, 12:07 PM
I was burned by digibest.net. So, I am looking for a new online store. I found a great deal on a Nikon D70 at geniuscameras.com. Has anyone heard good or bad about them?

fast_toy2000
01-13-2005, 12:54 PM
DO NOT SUPPORT THIS "BUSINESS" WITH YOUR $$$!!
This is a scam operation where they advertise the lowest prices & then overcharge you. I ordered a Canon SD300, and they called me the next day to buy an "extended life battery". The shipped package had the default bundle per Canon's website, and they overcharged me by $100. I am disputing the difference with my credit card company.

One hint that these guys are scam artists is the email confirmation when you place the order DOES NOT INCLUDE ANY PROCE INFORMATION!! Take a printout of teh confirmation page with the price, S&H charge & total price. Best option: don't buy anything from these thugs.