PDA

View Full Version : Older vs. New technology

Chestersoftball
09-20-2004, 07:09 AM
I am new to the Digital Camera Market and could use some help. I am purchasing a camera to mostly capture my kids in sports, both indoor and outdoor (wrestling and softball picther). I have the opportunity to purchase a Dimage 7HI at the same price as a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ20 which has received wonderful reviews. The Question is: The Dimage seems to be a Professional Quality camera of it's time of release, is it still a better camera than what is being produced now for the $600 price tag? I am not a professional photographer is one much easier to use, and better for sporting events? Thank You!! Is there in your opinions something more suitable out there, that I should look into?

Rick

D70FAN
09-20-2004, 09:46 AM
I am new to the Digital Camera Market and could use some help. I am purchasing a camera to mostly capture my kids in sports, both indoor and outdoor (wrestling and softball picther). I have the opportunity to purchase a Dimage 7HI at the same price as a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ20 which has received wonderful reviews. The Question is: The Dimage seems to be a Professional Quality camera of it's time of release, is it still a better camera than what is being produced now for the $600 price tag? I am not a professional photographer is one much easier to use, and better for sporting events? Thank You!! Is there in your opinions something more suitable out there, that I should look into?

Rick

Even though cross-posting is not generally allowed, I can see why you did so.

The 7Hi is an ok camera, but overall I think you will be better served by either the FZ15 (4MP) or FZ20 (5MP). 1 MegaPixel does not make a big difference unless you are planning heavy cropping and large format printing.