PDA

View Full Version : shooting live music acts

SilverTurtle
07-31-2005, 09:25 AM
Hey everyone, I'm new the boards... and pretty new to digital photography as well. I've already learned some new tricks here :D , and am hoping I can get some input on a specific problem:

I'm a musician, and have a lot of friends in bands, so a lot of the photos I'm shooting are of bands playing live in bars and small clubs. This means the lighting is dark behind me, and various, changing colors and brightness on stage. Add to this the fact that the subject(s) are moving most of the time... and it's hard to get really great shots.

My camera is mostly the point-n-shoot variety, a Kodak EasyShare CX7430, so I do have options to change the flash, white balance, ISO, but not a ton of control.

Any advice is really appreciated.... THANKS!

TheObiJuan
07-31-2005, 09:40 AM
without a tripod or monopod you probably will get either dark or out of focus pictures. It's a good point and shoot camera, but not designed for the extremes. Very low light work is an extreme.

Clyde
07-31-2005, 01:25 PM

I'm a musician, and have a lot of friends in bands, so a lot of the photos I'm shooting are of bands playing live in bars and small clubs. This means the lighting is dark behind me, and various, changing colors and brightness on stage. Add to this the fact that the subject(s) are moving most of the time... and it's hard to get really great shots.

My camera is mostly the point-n-shoot variety, a Kodak EasyShare CX7430, so I do have options to change the flash, white balance, ISO, but not a ton of control.

Any advice is really appreciated.... THANKS!

You are not really set up to take great pictures in that situation, however, you can get some. First off, don't be afraid to use flash. It will destroy the low light and colored light stuff, but it will freeze movement and can give you an effectively stark look (http://www.dcresource.com/forums/showthread.php?t=10269).