PDA

View Full Version : Unbiased opinion - Sony vs. Fuji

GMNelson
07-08-2004, 05:51 PM
I'm fairly new to the digital photo world. I've had a couple of real crappy cameras to do some web stuff, but I want to pursue digital photography as a serious hobby.

Right now, I'm stuck between the Sony DSC F717 and the Fuji FinePix S7000. Has anyone else compared these two cameras, side-by-side? If so, what was your decision and how did you come to it?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

JDR7171988
07-08-2004, 08:10 PM
Get the Sony. We're anti-Fuji here.

Jake Conner
07-08-2004, 10:23 PM
The Fuji probably has slightly better overall image quality, and it has a faster lens with a little more power on both ends. It also has better macro and uses CF cards instead of the Sony's expensive, proprietary MemorySticks. The Sony has far better low-light focussing and a swivel lens. If you do lots of shooting in crowds or low light, I might choose the Sony, but the Fuji wins overall.

Jake

GMNelson
07-09-2004, 04:52 AM
Get the Sony. We're anti-Fuji here.

Are there some better options?

Here are my requirements:

1. Relative newbie so I need something that's fairly easy to use.
2. I'm looking for high resolution and good color.
3. Would like a camera I can "accessorize" over time - wide-angle, telephoto, etc.
4. General use - mostly outdoor shots, some portraits.

Does the Sony DSC F717 fit the bill?

Nick
07-09-2004, 08:01 AM
I used the Sony F717 for a long time, and I have it still. Mine has in excess of 20,000 shots on it, and it's still going good. If you really want to ' accessorize ' , dSLR is the way to go, but that isn't what you're looking for. Sony does offer a wide angle lense, telephoto add-on, and a flash or two for the F717.

What can I tell you about the camera? Downside first; it uses Memorystick format, which is damn expensive to obtain in large amounts, a 1GB stick costs around 400. That's about all I was unhappy with.