PDA

View Full Version : DX7440 auto ISO selection working?



pgoelz
09-15-2004, 12:43 PM
Excerpt from a post to the photography ng......

In fully AUTO mode, the ISO setting shows as "AUTO". Makes sense.
But when you prefocus and the camera sets the exposure, it shows you
the ISO setting it chooses. No matter what the lighting conditions of
the scene you are framing or the flash on/off status, it always
chooses ISO 80. I can't figure out when (if ever) it would chose a higher
speed and the manual is pretty basic.

Paul

Cold Snail
09-15-2004, 12:49 PM
ISO 80 is the camera's highest quality, so the camera tries to use this at the expense of a slower shutter speed.

pgoelz
09-15-2004, 01:05 PM
Yes I realize that 80 ISO is the highest quality and why the camera would want to use it. But the ISO setting is called AUTO, so I would also expect the camera to select a higher ISO setting in the event that the image would otherwise be underexposed (aperture wide open, shutter as slow as it will go). In program mode where the ISO setting shows as AUTO, I can point at a darker scene and have the camera take a seriously underexposed image, while the ISO setting stubbornly stays at 80. Why? It is as if the ISO was in fact NOT auto, but preset to 80.

Paul

fl0rin
11-28-2007, 04:26 PM
I noticed the same problems when ISO is set to auto. Is there any firmware update that solves them? I think it is a serious problem because the only way to take a decent photo at night it to manually adjust the ISO setting.